Remembering 911

Do I?

Yes I do.

My daughter, the apple of my eye, was living in Manhattan, and working in Brooklyn on Sept. 11, 2001. As she tells her story, after the first tower was hit, the management sent everybody home; they didn’t know what was going on, but figured that transportation would be screwed up no matter what. So she took the subway…and ended up very nearly under the WTO as it collapsed.  The train stopped in the tunnel, not at a station. And the conductor somehow, guided everybody up to street level. And an NYPD cop nearby told everybody to run. And she ran; all the way back to her  appartment in Chelsea.

The phones were not working, as you may recall. But the internet was, and shortly after, she sent email telling me/us that she was OK, more or less….

Do I remember 911, yes I do.

Dave

Leave a Reply

